Milestones 

You know how we celebrate milestones in life? And often with a huge party, and especially photographs? Weddings, engagements, children being born, maternity photographs. 

I had this idea the other day, to create a milestone of my own. 

I really feel as though my growth recently is deserving of its own milestone. It’s own photoshoot. It’s own expression. 

There’s a song I’ve listened to since day one of this therapy journey. It’s called ‘Paper Crown’ and it’s by Alec Benjamin. And I wanted to create, in essence, this photoshoot representing that song and my journey, to document it. 

So today, I took a leap and told my good friend, Clare, about the idea. Clare is a seamstress, a wizard with costumes and in incredible dancer and artist. And initially I thought about how dumb it seemed and worried but Clare loved it. She loved it so much she started sketching on the spot while listening to the song. 

You know, people celebrate important life milestones with photos all the time. This coming into myself, this growth – and especially if you listen to the lyrics of this song – the strength I have as I learn to live as me – it deserves to be honored. It’s likely the most important milestone in my life, learning to accept and love myself – past and all. 

So now I’m off to pitch the idea to my photographer friend, and maybe get the ball rolling. Because I can think of nothing more freeing for a part of me that has been trapped for so long than letting it be expressed creatively in front of people I trust, as I am. 

She’ll make it out, but she’s never the same
She’s looking down, at the scars that remain
But you hold your ground, though your kingdoms in flames
Cause it’s the story of a queen whose castle has fallen to the sea


Read more: Alec Benjamin – Paper Crown Lyrics | MetroLyrics 

17 thoughts on “Milestones 

  1. Thanks for sharing this beautiful inspiration. I love it. You are fantastic.

    I also have a song that repeatedly speaks to me about my therapy journey, Wood by Indigo Girls. For example:

    Yeah but what it takes to cross the great divide
    Seems more than all the courage I can muster up inside
    Although we get to have some answers when we reach the other side
    The prize is always worth the rocky ride

    and later in the song

    Sometimes I ask to sneak a closer look
    Skip to the final chapter of the book
    And then maybe steer us clear from some of the pain it took
    To get us where we are this far yeah
    But the question drowns in its futility
    And even I have got to laugh at me
    No one gets to miss the storm of what will be
    Just holding on for the ride

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love it. I’m also impressed that you are actually doing it – I get ideas and then once the initial burst of enthusiasm has worn off they fade into obscurity. I hope you will let us see little snippets of the finished result (within the limits of what will protect your privacy).

    Liked by 2 people

    • Of course. It’s still a bit far off but I have a trusted set/seamstress person, Lu is going to help me scout locations and be there, and the photographer is also a good friend. So hoping we can keep it safe and healthy.

      And I’ll definitely share.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. This is one of the coolest things I’ve ever heard. Because it’s incredibly meaningful and also FUN. And god knows we need more fun moments along this journey. Doing something creative and expressive with friends is such an awesome way to celebrate your progress, and the act of asking them to participate is emblematic of your progress! Have I mentioned I think it’s perfect?

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a Reply

