Moving

Recently, my husband and I have been toying with the idea of moving to Australia.

There are many reasons why – his health, our marriage, space, adventure, the tech industry there would pay me double what I’m making here because they need my skill set.

All I can keep thinking is, is it running away?

Is it running away from my family?

And the two things that I think of that may really stop me.. leaving A, would be a pre requisite. And bugs. I don’t like bugs. 

But… adventure.

I built a support system here, who says I can’t build one in Australia too? 

It wouldn’t be imminent. But we want it to happen. So, these are things I’m thinking about.

7 thoughts on “Moving

  1. Hi PD! That sounds like an amazing adventure for sure! I myself have decided to move for a year, and the idea is terrifying but at the same time, seems to be the thing that I need to completely move on from my divorce. Wherever you go, you’ll always have this community of mental health advocates who will support you. I know I haven’t been on as much as I’d like, but I always think of you. I share your concern about losing A, because I do feel really sore at the fact that I have to leave S, but it’s like S said to me, “I know you’re willing to engage and work hard no matter who you see” and so, it’s my hope for you and I both that we’ll be able to find good new therapists who can keep helping us stay on track of our mental health!

    On the subject of running away… That’s what I did 5 years ago when I left Malaysia. My every focus was on leaving the bad things behind. However, from what I’ve read, it doesn’t sound like you’re running away. It sounds like you’re making a change. Change is good especially if you feel like things have been stagnant for so long.

    Whatever you decide, I’m all for you making decisions for YOU!

    Btw, what do you do in the tech industry?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i remember about 20 years ago when I began T my T telling me the best thing I could do for my health was to move across the country. my family, you see was very much like yours. not to stop contact but get some distance.

    I talked myself out of it. in retrospect, I think I would have healed much much faster away from their influence.

    this is not to say what is right for you of course. just my retrospection.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What’s interesting is I do live approx 4000m away from my family right now, Australia would just be putting more distance there.

      I talked myself out of it the first time too, and then went for it later.

      Like

  3. Moving is a really big decision. And the questions you are asking yourself about “why” are really wise and thoughtful. It’s definitely not something to dive into, but it’s not something to be afraid of either. You are smart to process and think in the midst of dreaming. The best part of this is that you have complete control and you choose your path. It would be adventure for sure! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, this is a big decision. You could definitely build a support system there! You have proof that you can do it. It’s not running away; it’s running toward something (adventure, tech industry, etc).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

